FAQ: How do I revoke document access?

This depends on how the document was protected and whether you want to revoke access to a document for all users or just for a single user.

Revoking document access for all users

Go to the Documents tab in the Safeguard Admin system, select and suspend the document.

Document revocation takes effect dependiing on the controls you selected in Safeguard Writer > Expiry & Validity Tab > Verify Document Access section, when protecting the document.

  • Each time the document is opened
    The document is revoked when the user next attempts to open the document.
  • Only when an Internet connection is available *
    The document is revoked the next time the user is connected to the Internet and attempts to open the document.
  • Every n days
    The document is revoked when the user is next forced to connect to the Internet (once n days has been reached) and attempts to open the document.
  • Never
    The document cannot be revoked.
    However, if a user removes their keystore and re-registers their license then the document will no longer be available to them.

*  Safeguard Enterprise only

Revoking document access for a single user

Whether document revocation is possible will depend on the access control you selected in the Safeguard Writer Document Access Tab when protecting the document.

The same rules above however apply for document verification as an access check must occur before a document can be revoked.

Document Protected for All customers

If you have protected a document for all customers but want to revoke access to a single user then follow these instructions:

  • Go to the Customers Tab in the Safeguard Admin system, select the customer details >> and then the Set Document Access link.
  • Select the document and choose ‘Grant Limited Access’ from the ‘With all checked’ pull-down box.
  • Enter a date range that has already passed – e.g. 11-04-2014 to 11-05-2014.
  • Then press the OK button.
Document Protected for Selected customers

If you have protected a document for selected customers then you must have individually assigned access to each customer for them to be able to view it.  To revoke access:

  • Go to the Customers Tab in the Safeguard Admin system, select the customer details >> and then the Set Document Access link.
  • Select the document and choose ‘Revoke Access’ from the ‘With all checked’ pull-down box.
  • Then press the OK button.
Document protected to a publication

You cannot revoke document access for a single customer.

If a document in a publication is suspended/revoked that applies to all users with access to that publication.

You can revoke an individual customer’s access to a publication and that stops access to all the documents in the publication.